Play FREE or win CA$H Prizes!
Main Forum
how to....

how to....
Posted by Robodice Aug 14 2022 1:32PM

I am new to this application. is their any help topic on doubling? How?

Doubling Cube
Posted by DreamCastr_XYI (TD) Aug 15 2022 2:36PM

this information is located under links if you scroll down to backgammon you will see the rules and information on doubling and strategy. Feel free to get in contact with me when you see me in main lobby. Hope you will enjoy the site. Doubling Cube Backgammon at this site is played for an agreed stake (number of points) per match. Doubling makes sense only if a match involves more than 1 point. Each game starts at one point. During the course of the multi-point match, any player may propose doubling the stakes. Doubling is only possible at the start of own turn and before rolling the dice. A player who is offered a double is allowed to refuse, in which case that player concedes the current game within a match and lose the current number of points within the game. Otherwise, accepting the double will double the stakes (points) within the current game of the match. A player who accepts a double becomes the owner of the cube and only the owner of the cube may propose the next double. Subsequent doubles in the same game are called redoubles. If a player refuses a redouble, that player loses the number of points that were at stake prior to the redouble. Otherwise, upon accepting a redouble, that player becomes the new owner of the cube and the game continues at twice the previous stakes. There is no limit to the number of redoubles in a multi-point match. To allow yourself the opportunity to double even when no legal moves are available, select the preference option called 'No auto-rolls'. This will have to be done at least 1 move prior to doubling. Using this option will result in confirming all moves -- even those where no legal moves are available. Doubling Cube FAQ Question #1 2pt Match, if I'm losing the game (and the cube has not been doubled) and my opponent offers to double the cube and I refuse, do I lose the entire Match or is there another game or games played till the point equals 2? Answer #1 When you refuse the double here, you are only losing 1 point - same match continues [with the start of a game] with the score 1-0 in favor of your opponent Question #2 How do points and cube relate to each other? Answer #2 Cube is NOT analogous to points. When cube is set to any value [other than initial 64], this value is only meant to multiply OTHER normal gained game points. Without the cube, the game within the match can earn 1 point [normal], 2 points [win with gammon] and 3 points [win with backgammon] If the cube was set to 2 during the above game: * normal [1 point] win in the game will be worth 2 points * gammon win [normally 2 points] will be worth 4 points * backgammon win [normally 3 points] will be worth 6 points

GC Store